Forgiving but Not Forgetting

I’m ready to forgive you but forgetting is a harder fight.

I want to forgive you, I really do. But I can’t forget everything that you’ve done to me. You were the one person that I thought would never hurt me, but you did. How am I just supposed to forget that? And I know for a fact that you will hurt me again. So how am I supposed to forgive you? Please tell me. Was everything you did to me intentional? Or were your excuses really true? All those empty texts. That feeling of betrayal. Please don’t do it again. My heart and well-being can’t take it anymore. You weren’t with me at my lowest. I’m thinking maybe I should do what you did to me. But that wouldn’t be fair. Because I’m not that type of person. And I’d like to think that you aren’t either, but look at what all you’ve done. Sometimes I wonder what life would be like if I wasn’t a compassionate and forgiving person. I hate forgiving people who hurt me. Because they keep hurting me. You hurt me. But they say that no matter how angry you get, you always end up forgiving the people you love. But I really don’t know who the real you is. And I really don’t want to believe that this is the real you. The person who keeps hurting me. But what else do I have to believe in? The you that doesn’t respond? The you that is never there? I try to think of the positives. But currently they’re negatives. Please prove me wrong. Either way I’ll probably still always. Forgive. You. But I won’t forget.

Leave a Reply

