Insecurities

Define Insecure. Adjective.

From Merriam Webster:

-“Not confident about yourself or your ability to do things well.”

-“Not certain to be successful for a long time”

From Urban dictionary (I really like this definition, you should read the whole definition on the website) : “A very flawed character trait that results from low confidence and low self-esteem…insecure people hide their real self to avoid being rejected or despised, when most of their perceptions are false. “

Define insecurity(insecurities). Noun.

Definition from Google: “Uncertainty or anxiety about oneself; lack of confidence… Open to danger.”

Insecurities. Have you ever had them? Had? Have? Has? I’ve had insecurities I still have insecurities.

Some examples. In 7th grade I used to be really insecure of the hair on my arms because I mean it was a lot. And I would look at other girls’ arms and just be jealous. Because theirs was contained, minimal, some didn’t even have arm hair. And I got really insecure that people would look at my arms and gawk. So.. I started shaving my arm hair. Then I got really lazy, too lazy to shave them every time. So I started putting on sweaters to hide it. But since it was the summer I started going sleeveless and sweater-less. And I just feel confident, I broke that insecurity. It felt so good. But trust me I still love my sweaters. They’re like my main fashion statement lol.

Another example. I’m very open to jokes. I’m that person that laughs at the most stupidest, corny jokes. I love my corny jokes. I laugh. A lot. Then this one time in tech class, everyone was just making a lot of jokes and they were all hysterically funny. So I laughed a lot. I laughed at all the jokes. Then one of my classmates asked me “Why do you laugh so much.” And this guy didn’t say it as a joke or something. The way he said it, it was like he was choosing to offend me. Sadly this guy wasn’t the only one that’s said that to me in my lifetime. So I got really insecure about my laughter thinking I should keep it contained. But to be honest I love my laugh. I love laughing. It makes me so happy. Why shouldn’t I laugh? I am me. And know I have so many comebacks to that question. “Why shouldn’t I? Laughing makes me happy.” “Yeah? Well you don’t laugh enough.” I definitely won’t let someone make me insecure about my laughing because it’s mine, not yours. And you don”t have the power to judge me on it.

Trust me I still have insecurities. I lack confidence most times, more than some. I make perceptions, that might not be true to others but are true to me. I do all of  this stuff. I want to stop being insecure. But I’m human. I’ll always have insecurities. I’ll always lack confidence someway or another. And I’ll sometimes hide myself because of my insecurities. But I hope to always conquer them. I hope you conquer them too.

2 thoughts on “Insecurities

    • Aww, I’m glad it made you feel better. I don’t know what you look like, but I bet you’re beautiful. And if anyone ever tells you you’re not good enough don’t ever believe them. Just repeat “I’m good enough,” in the mirror and it will brighten your day. Trust me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

