Turning 16

I regretted this day since December 1st. I never really wanted to turn older. Because once you’re 16 your age keeps getting bigger and more important, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21…. and so on.

I never thought I would say this, but I actually feel happy turning 16 today.

I used to always hate birthdays. Well I didn’t hate them hate them. But you know you always get kind of depressed on your birthday because there are like a bunch of your friends who don’t wish you a happy birthday. I used to always be kind of a Grinch when it came to my friends forgetting it was my birthday. I would also remind people it was my birthday and looking back I feel really embarrassed. But this year I’m just really grateful for the people who do wish me a happy birthday. And the people who don’t, I’m actually not phased by them anymore.

I also am really glad that my birthday is so close to the New Year and the holidays. I know you hear that some December babies are unlucky because we get like one combined present of Christmas and our birthday. But I’m grateful. Because I can be able to look back at my years as a 15 year old like looking back on an old year. I’m able to know how much I’ve grown not just in a year but in an age. I think that that’s amazing. I mean who cares about one present. I’m just thankful that I’m lucky enough to get one present.

I also love spending time with my family. We have this tradition where if it’s one of our birthdays the others get up early in the morning to sing happy birthday to the one who has the birthday, while they’re asleep. My family woke me up today singing happy birthday and I don’t think I’ve ever been more thankful to have a family like this. They also make sure I have a great birthday by taking me to a dinner in a fancy restaurant. They always make my birthdays memorable.

Sweet 16. When you saw someone turning 16 you always thought that like they were getting a car or something. I mean I don’t think I’m getting a car soon. And I can only drive with a permit and an adult.

Responsibility.

That’s what 16 brings. I thinks that’s why I was afraid of this day. I didn’t want the mass loads of responsibility. But now that the day is here, I think I’m actually ready for it.

I want to grow and develop my story more. I think my past year has been a big character-building year for me. I’m glad for everything that’s brought me here today.

I appreciate all the friends I’ve lost this year. I appreciate the boy who broke my heart multiple times this year. I appreciate all the people who ignore me. I appreciate every single person who broke me and brought me down.

Because it’s made me the person I am today.

I’m thankful for the family I have, they may be dysfunctional at times but they’re always there. I’m thankful for the friends who have to put up with me and are always there to make me laugh. A God up there who takes care of me. I’m thankful for all the strangers who have said something nice to me this year.

They’ve also made me the person I am today.

So here’s to a new age and a new year. I hope that whatever it brings I survive and I’m happy. And I hope you guys have a good new year and have had a good year!

7 thoughts on “Turning 16

  1. Happy birthday!
    You seem to have a very mature attitude and outlook on life! It’s true, turning 16 does bring more responsibility, but it really seems like you’re ready to handle it! With responsibility, I think you learn a lot more about yourself and you get more opportunities. Don’t take it for granted! You’ll miss being 16 one day, I promise!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Well believe me I wasn’t always this way. It took me a lot of time and effort to be grateful for the littlest things in life. But I’m glad that I’ve come this far. Thank you for the advice! I’ll make sure to cherish every bit of 16.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

