Harper Lee

Today, the  world has lost one of the best novelists.

Harper Lee.

Harper Lee is the author of one of my all-time favorite books: To Kill a Mockingbird.

I remember first reading To Kill a Mockingbird. It was 9th grade. I was sick for an entire week and I didn’t go to school, because I was in the hospital. When I came back everyone was almost finished with To Kill a Mockingbird and I only read a few pages, I think. My teacher gave me a break and told me all I had to do was finish the book. I didn’t have to take the reading quizzes since I missed a lot. It was the first book, well in a long time, that I didn’t  want to put down. I had like 3 days to finish the book and it has a lot of pages. But those were the best days of my life. I didn’t strenuously turn the pages waiting for the chapter to end. I was so excited to see the rest of the story.

I love TKAMB because it has so many valuable lessons. Off the top of my head:

  • Don’t judge a person by their appearance or the rumors that are told about them.
  • Getting to know the person goes a long way.
  • People can teach us lessons, even if we don’t know they are.
  • Never be afraid to stand up for what’s right.

This book changed my life. The turn it took talking about racial injustice. The mysteries of a suspicious neighbor who has never been seen. The severity of Scout and Jem getting attacked.

The story never got boring. And nothing was introduced without a reason. The whole story was connected to teach the audience something.

I remember hearing this quote on Pretty Little Liars and it really related to how I feel about TKAMB.

“Good writing doesn’t tell you it’s raining it lets you feel what it’s like to be rained upon.”

This book didn’t just tell us lessons and tell us how to to treat others. It showed us and it made us feel the emotions of what it’s like to be taught a lesson through an experience.

I can’t even begin to comprehend how someone can sum up so many lessons in one book and turn those lessons into a story filled with so many elements. Family, mystery, compassion, understanding, courage, bravery….

Here are some of my many favorite quotes:

“Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”

“People generally see what they look for and hear what they listen for.”

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand.”

Harper Lee, you have no idea what your writing has meant to me. Your book was and will always be amazing to me. Thank you for sharing your talent with the world.

Leave a Reply

