Happy Birthday Dad

Dear Dad,

What can I say?

You’ve been an amazing father to me.

Today on your birthday I’m so thankful for you and all you’ve done for me.

I remember when we would go to the park every Sunday and ride bikes and every Saturday night we would play tennis.

I remember the first time you let me sit in the passenger seat and that was a big step. That was a big step for the both of us, because you accepted that I’m growing up.

I remember when you grew the mustache on your face after you came back from your vacation in India and I freaked out. And you thought it was funny and I got used to your mustache face (even though I miss your mustache-less face).

You always slept in that uncomfortable bed in the hospital whenever I had another breathing scare. You were always there to take care of me, even when you were all the way in India, you felt bad for not being there.

You were always adventurous and loved traveling. I’ve had the best vacations to Florida, South Carolina, India because you always loved going new places.

You always kept all the cards that I’ve given you, even ones I don’t remember. You still keep that worn out picture of me in your wallet. You always take my picture to post on Facebook, I didn’t understand why you would always post the embarrassing pictures of me to show to our relatives. But you were just proud and you were being a father.

You always make sure all of our birthdays are extra special. You started the birthday song as soon as we wake up tradition. I really thought that my birthday was going to be horrible last year. But you made sure that I was happy on my birthday and I was, I really was.

You always let me buy whatever I want in the store and I’m pretty sure that most of the clothes in my closet are there because you bought them for me. I don’t understand why you spend so much money on me, but I know now that it’s because you want me to be happy.

You work until midnight to pay all the bills and provide for us. I don’t even know how to thank you for that.

I want you to be happy on your birthday dad because as I’m getting older you are too and I don’t want to lose you because you’re my dad. But one day I might have to let you go. And I don’t want to. I want your arm to always hold me up. I want your hug everyday. I want to see you smile everyday. I’m crying writing this to you dad.

I don’t want you the anger of your struggles to overtake you. Because you deserve so much better. I don’t want you to be stressed or sad. I want to be able to be the daughter that comforts you in your darkness. Because I hate when something brings you down.

Dad, I hope you know that no matter what I’ll always love you and you’ll always be the best dad to me. Happy birthday, thank you just thank you. I thank God that He gave you as my father. No one else could fill that position but you.

Love,

Daddy’s Little Girl

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dad

Leave a Reply

