Good v. Bad

It’s funny, don’t you think?

That literally one thousand positive things can happen to us in a day.

A thousand smiles, laughs, hello’s, hugs, and jokes.

You know, all the positive stuff that happens to us.

All the good things.

Isn’t it funny how they aren’t our focal point?

That only the one negative thing that has happened to us is the main event refreshing in our minds whenever we look back on our day.

That one negative person is suddenly the only person we’re thinking of who’s haunting our memory of the day and we can’t kick them out.

Why is it that we only focus on the bad things?

Why do we barely remember the good things?

To be honest if you asked me a positive thing about my day it would take me maybe 2 minutes to figure it out.

But if you asked me a negative thing about my day it’ll be like a reflex, I wouldn’t even have to think about it because it’s haunting my thoughts as we speak.

Why is it that the amazing stuff isn’t our focus?

I don’t know about your life.

But I at least hope you would’ve smiled at least 5 times today. Maybe because of a person, a tv show, music, anthing. You smiled right?

And then there might be like a few bad things that happened also.

They might be a handful of bad things or just one thing.

Either way, bad will always outweigh the good.

And I’m not sure why.

Why is it that we tend to look at the negative parts of our day, just to make ourselves feel bad? Maybe it is a reflex?

Maybe we’re just taking the good things for granted.

Maybe the good things seem immune to our well-being.

Maybe it’s the fact that opposites attract.

Whenever we feel good we find things, or things find us, that make us feel bad.

And whenever we feel bad we find things, or things find us, that make us feel good.

It’s a never-ending cycle.

Good and bad.

Who will win?

5 thoughts on “Good v. Bad

  1. I love this post so much because I can 110% relate to everything you’re saying. The negativity always takes over the positivity in a day for me even if I wish that didn’t happen and that’s just all so weird to me. I love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alexandrina elle says:

    good always wins, no matter what. even if it doesn’t seem like it there will always be something good around you to cheer you up when the bad things come around aha if that makes sense

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

