Mirror Regimen

“You are beautiful when you smile.”

“You’re so smart, I can’t believe you finally figured out that problem!”

“Your laugh is so contagious.”

“I’m so proud of you.”

“You’re really funny.”

“You can do this, you’re strong.”

“I love you.”

These would all be great compliments that people could give you. But you know what would be even better?

If you said them to yourself.

What, did she just say that, to myself? How would I even do that?

Yes I just said that. Here’s how you do that…

Step 1. Get in front of a mirror.

Step 2. Look yourself in the face. Don’t be shy, lol you’ve known the person all your life. Stare into your eyes.

Step 3. Compliment yourself. Don’t forget to smile.

Notice that in none of these steps do I say “Demean yourself.” If you do that you are not doing it right, you are doing the opposite.

But seriously guys, when you look at yourself in the mirror, don’t look immediately down, unable to look at yourself.

Look, observe, smile at the person that you are.

At the person you’re becoming.

Of the past you’ve let go of.

Why is it that we smile when others compliment us, but we can’t seem to accept or believe compliments from our self?

Or we “politely reject” their compliment, when really it’s the one thing on our mind for the rest of the day.

It’s not weird to compliment yourself.

It’ll make your day ten x ten x ten x infinity times better.

Because if you don’t believe in yourself, who will?

If you can’t love yourself, how can you love others?

If you can’t truly look at the person you’re looking at in the mirror, how are you going to live your life with you?

Because there might be other people in your life, but you are the only one who’s gonna be there for you always.

You are born with you, you die with you.

I know it might not be easy sometimes, to accept the person you’re becoming, but it all takes a little time.

Times like those, think of all the achievement you’ve made in your lifetime, and don’t tell me there are none.

You got all A’s.

You wrote a story.

You made a best friend.

You looked at yourself in the mirror and smiled. *cough, cough*

Anything, anything can be considered an achievement.

Hey, you’re even able to read this blog post, some people wouldn’t even get past the fact that I just told them to give a compliment to themselves.

Don’t demean yourself.

Don’t put yourself down.

Keep yourself up.

Promise me that you’ll do something for me, before you go to bed.

  • Go to the mirror.
  • Look at yourself.
  • Smile.
  • And say this:
    • “Stay strong.”
    • “I know you can do this.”
    • “I love you.”
  • Go to bed, because you have a bright future in front of you.

∞Stay Strong∞

♥Rebecca.

(I have a signature from now on. Only took me a year, but I finally thought of one that gave my blog enough justice. I’m all official now, high five. I’m lame sorry, ok this post is done now.)

5 thoughts on “Mirror Regimen

  1. Alexandrina Elle says:

    Yass, this post I love it soooo much because its so true. It’s like how do we expect others to love us if we can’t love ourselves or like you can’t love someone with loving yourself first and this is such an important step to love yourself. Also yay for your signature, it looks good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you so much! Exactly the point! Loving yourself is one of the most important things in the world 🙂 And thank you! The signature kind of just came to me and I’m glad that you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! And oh my gosh I just read yours and it’s so beautifully written. I always thought that seeing myself as beautiful was vain, but it’s not, it’s love. To actually acknowledge the love of yourself is one of the most beautiful things to acknowledge. Learning to love myself is a day to day struggle but reading your post, and having someone hold the same perspective as me makes it a bit easier 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

