cycle of friendship

Dear Friend,

I don’t know why you started a conversation with me.

I don’t know why you wanted to get to know me.

I don’t know why you want to make me smile.

I don’t know your “motives.”

Thank you.

Thank you for wanting to be my friend.

But, please, don’t break me.

Don’t take my heart and throw it away.

I’ve been broken too many times and I don’t think I can take it another time.

Please.

I promise to keep the conversation going.

I promise to make you smile.

I promise to make you laugh.

But, if you do end up breaking my heart in the future…

I promise I’ll give you space.

I promise I won’t push.

I promise that I’ll forget you like you forgot me.

I promise, because somewhere deep in my heart, you’ll still be considered my friend.

And I know someday that our friendship will end.

That’s just the way it goes.

You’ll probably forget about me, but I’ll never forget about you, no matter how hard I try.

Meet.

Talk.

Smile.

Find things in common.

Laugh.

Text.

Days of silence.

Fallout.

Ignoring each other.

Passing by each other.

Forgetting.

It’s just the cycle of friendship for me.

∞Stay Strong∞
❤Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

