Aware

Just because you’re living in the body and soul that you’re living in, doesn’t mean it’s always about you.

The world doesn’t revolve around you.

Yes, it is your life and it is your story.

But don’t be self-conceited.

I tell you guys all the time to love yourselves.

But don’t love yourself so much that you shower hate towards everything else.

Don’t love yourself so much that you only care about yourself.

Don’t be so attracted to yourself that you forget about the world around you.

I believe that loving yourself means learning to love who you are, so that you can love infinitely more.

Remember that there is a world around you.

With so much pain and heartbreak.

There are so many issues in the world today.

There are kids starving.

There are refuges and immigrants.

There are wars and violence and shootings.

There are people wanting a better life that they cannot get.

Sometimes we don’t realize how grateful we are.

We see the starving kids in tv commercials, and we think maybe it’s over exaggerated, maybe the advertising company is just doing this to shed a tear. But they’re not over exaggerating anything.

There are people dying and we don’t even notice it.

I used to hate watching the news, because I really didn’t want to know what was going on in the world. I was scared. I am scared. But I can’t run away from it, because news spreads. Overall, I was going to learn about a lost airplane or a mass shooting.

But now, I like to know what’s going on in the world. I’m still scared. But I want to know. Because I want to be aware.

I used to be a bit self-conceited.

I only thought about myself, I was never aware.

Actually, I was aware. I mean who doesn’t at least know that there are wars happening and people dying? I was aware, but I never really paid much attention.

Now I’m paying attention. Because, ultimately, the affairs of the world affects all of us. Even if something bad happens on the other side of the world.

It should affect us, because we’re all one race.

Not concerning cultural background.

Not concerning sexuality.

Not concerning skin color.

We’re all a race of humans. And we should all care when something horrible and horrendous happens to other humans.

We shouldn’t be ignorant.

We shouldn’t be so involved with ourselves to be so unaware of the world around us.

Yes, it is your life but just because it’s your life doesn’t mean you can’t care for and help others.

People are always saying how they want the world to change.

Well what if we are the change?

We can be the change.

You might think that can be a ridiculous idea.

But don’t tell me that everyone who has made a change in the world, like Martin Luther King Jr. or Mahatma Gandhi, knew as soon as they were babies that they were going to be a world changer.

No, they didn’t know.

They worked hard.

They were passionate.

And they made the world a better place.

When they were learning how to walk, they had no idea what they were capable of.

You have no idea what your legacy could be.

If you think pessimistically, then that is what you’ll receive.

If you think optimistically, that is what you’ll receive.

Did your teachers ever tell you that if you think that it’s cold, it will ultimately become cold for you? The mind can overall determine your outward perspective. If you think you are sad, you will be sad. If you think you are tired, you will be tired.

If you think that you won’t have a legacy, then it won’t happen.

If you don’t believe it, it won’t happen.

But you never know.

You can be a world changer.

The first step?

Be Aware.

«Music Friday»

banner-1176676_960_720

2 thoughts on “Aware

Leave a Reply

