Calm before the Storm

How do you know when the calm before the storm is?

I mean sure, meteorologists and forecasters can tell you all about a storm and when it’s coming.

But we don’t actually know the exact time a storm is going to brew.

You guys know that I’m not actually going to talk about real storms, right..?

I’m gonna talk about internal and external storms.

Referring back to the question:

How do you know when the calm before the storm is?

Simple.

You don’t know. You can’t.

You can’t determine when the calm before the storm is, because storms are unexpected.

Well, at least internal and external storms.

You never know when a storm is going to start in your life. In your heart. In your mind.

If we aren’t able to determine the calm before the storm, are we also unprepared.

Well, that depends.

It depends on the person that you are.

Are you prepared for a storm?

Are you ready for one?

If you aren’t, then consider this your calm before the storm.

Congratulations! You have a calm before the storm.

But, how do you know that there’s going to be a storm?

There’s always a storm, I’m pretty sure you’re familiar with the storm I’m taking about. I think it actually has a name. Now, let me think… what’s it called again? Oh, yeah! They call the storm “Life” and it’s always, always going to strike. Even when you’re not prepared. Even when you don’t expect it.

How do you prepare for a storm?

Honestly, I have no idea. But I’m here right now, so I guess that has to mean something.

Ok, this is what you have to do. Know who are in the storm. Because if the storm changes you, for the worst, you have to remember who you are. But not all change is bad.

How do you know the change you’re experiencing is the right one? Well, I guess you feel like a better person inside and out. Change doesn’t necessarily “change” you. It just reveals the real person you are underneath all the rubble that the storm has caused.

Also, during a storm, you have to have strength. That doesn’t mean that you’re not weak. It just means that no matter what you’re going to keep holding on. It doesn’t matter if you don’t always stay strong. You’re not always going to stay strong during a storm. You are going to be weak sometimes. But in those weak moments, you can’t give up and give in to the storm. Weakness won’t destroy you. You don’t have to believe it will. It won’t. Weakness will make you who you are.

I think that you also have to learn that not all storms are bad. Some are actually lovely, if you look at it in the right perspective. Some storms are experienced to make you a better person. You have to learn some stuff, that’s why the storm started. You might even need to know more about this world.

I don’t know what storms you’re going through right now, but what I do know is that all of my storms have made me the person that I am. I wouldn’t change that for the world.

Storms are chaotic and hell sometimes, and I wish I knew when the calm was. But I don’t know. I can’t change that.

But that’s what life is all about: surprise. You never know what’s going to happen when you wake up, starting your day. You have no idea whether it’s going to be a sunny day or if there’s a storm ahead (no you can’t check the weather channel lol). That’s the beauty of life. You might not see it as beauty, I certainly don’t see it that way all the time. But how boring and mundane would our lives be if we got what we expected? Ugh, it makes me kind of cringe thinking of it like that.

Can you imagine you being the planner of your life. And I mean planning every single moment. Like having this computer where you can arrange scenarios and situations how you want them to go. I can’t even arrange a hang out with my friends, my whole life… isn’t that a bit overwhelming?

Guys, the storm knows what it’s doing. You might not want it, but it’s inevitable. The only way we’re going to change and mature is by experiencing storms.

If you’re going through a storm right now, here’s my advice for you. The sun will come out, a storm can’t last forever, no matter how hard it tries.

banner-1176676_960_720

2 thoughts on “Calm before the Storm

Leave a Reply

