want v. need

We live in a world of never enough.

We want something and once we get it we don’t want it that much anymore.

Or when something gets taken away, all we want is to have it back. And once we get it back, it means nothing to else, just like before.

I remember when I was a kid, I would always want something. Whether it was my brother, holding a toy in his hand that I suddenly wanted to have, or it was something on the store shelves.

In the moment, it’s like all I want is that thing. I can’t live without it.

This happens everywhere. It’s a consumer tactic, there are commercials telling us “You want this! You need it!”

But do we NEED it?

My friends are always telling me I need to upgrade my phone. Because I have a phone that came out in 2012. It’s not bad. But it’s just that some things don’t work on my phone. Like snapchat despises my phone, I don’t have the filters and the app itself doesn’t work sometimes. Also, my phone’s battery is a joke. One minute it’s at 80%, I don’t touch it at all, and it’s at 20%. Yes, it pisses me off. But my phone can make calls, it can text, it can take pictures. I don’t see the point of getting a new one.

Do I want a new one? Sure, wouldn’t hurt.

Do I need a new one? No, not really.

There’s a difference between want and need, and whether we’re satisfied with their outcome.

Have you ever watched a TV show or movie and you wanted 2 people to be together? Like you rooted for them to be together. And then the Big Moment comes, the Realization, the Revelation…. and then? Once they’re together, like you wanted, something changes? They get boring? Suddenly, having them together isn’t such a big deal anymore. I mean not all the couple on TV are like this, but some of them are.

The chase was bigger than the outcome. The game is more interesting than the winner.

That’s why nothing will ever feel like it’s enough. Because there is suspense.

Suspense is what gives your adrenaline the rush.

Have you ever really liked someone, and it seems like you wanted nothing else in the world but that person? I have. I’ve also wondered what if they aren’t enough? What if once the “Revelation” happens, it won’t be enough?

Is it enough?

Close you eyes. Actually, don’t close your eyes until after I’ve told you what you’re closing your eyes for, lol.

Ok, think of the one thing you want most in the world, right now. Close your eyes.

Got it?

Ok, now think of the one thing you need most in the world. No it’s not the same thing. Now close your eyes and think.

The main purpose of this post is to explain the difference between want and need.

There is a difference.

There was a reason that, as a kid, once I received a toy, I never felt like it was enough. It was because I wanted the toy, I didn’t need it. But, once I got food and love, it was enough. Because I needed it.

Don’t confuse want with need. Because you won’t have the same outcome.

You won’t.

You might sometimes think you need something, but in the end you won’t need it. Overall, you won’t need. You might even forget about it in a few months, days even.

But you won’t forget about your needs. You’ll be thankful for them. Because they’ve helped you.

If you aren’t sure about the different between your wants and your needs, take the chance. Get your wants and your needs. The outcome will only prove what you need and what you don’t need.

Needs bring thankfulness and happiness.

Wants bring emptiness and selfishness.

There is a difference.

banner-1176676_960_720

Leave a Reply

