I Know, I Don’t Need Them

I’m a girl.

Guys are cute, I like them.

Here’s how life works… I like them, they like me. They care about me, and that’ll be enough. They’ll love me for who I am, something I could never do myself. They’ll save me from my inner demons and bring me peace. They’ll be enough for me. They’ll be all I want. They’ll be what I want. They’ll be what I need.

… Ok, stop right there. Did you actually think I meant all that stuff? Maybe, you don’t know me, and that’s ok because I’m going to show you what I actually think.

I don’t need a guy to tell me I’m worth it. I know I am.

I don’t need a guy to tell me I’m pretty, or beautiful. I know I am.

I don’t need a guy to feel like enough. I know I am.

I don’t need a guy to feel loved. I know I am.

I don’t need a guy’s labels to tell me who I am or who I should be. I know who I’m becoming.

I don’t need a guy to save me from my demons. I know that I’ve got it covered.

I don’t need a guy to bring me peace. I know that I can already achieve it without him

I don’t need a guy to feel “complete.” I know I’ll get there someday.

I don’t need a guy to believe in who I can become. I know that believing in me is all I need.

I don’t need a guy to feel a sense of happiness. I know I have other people that can help me with that.

I don’t need a guy to feel less lonely. I know I’ve got myself, and others.

I don’t need a guy to hug me and tells me that “Everything’s going to be okay.” I know I have other people that will do that for me.

I don’t need a guy to live. I know I don’t.

I don’t need a guy.

You don’t need a guy or a girl to feel like enough.

You don’t have to forge that mindset into your life. It’s a lie.

Sure, a significant other can make you happy, but you don’t need them to make you happy.

You want, but you don’t need.

I’m a woman.

Guys are cute, I like them.

But I know, I don’t need them.

«Music Friday»

  • Little Do You Know by Alex & Sierra

banner-1176676_960_720

2 thoughts on “I Know, I Don’t Need Them

Leave a Reply

