Disregarding My Heart for My Heart

I could reach into my chest and take out my heart.

I could read the names on it.

I could see the memories on it.

I could see what’s in it, what keeps it beating.

But, if I see you.

Your name,

your memory,

the image of you in my heart.

I would deny it immediately.

I would deny that you are the one person that makes it beat faster.

Because I can’t tell myself the truth.

Even though I know I would be lying.

Even if I could reach into my chest, take out my heart, and see your name,

it won’t prove that I like you.

It’ll only prove that I’m capable of lying to myself,

of disregarding my heart.

But that will never be as bad as admitting that I like you.

I’m not the enemy of my heart,

I’m protecting it.

From breaking, again.

banner-1176676_960_720

3 thoughts on “Disregarding My Heart for My Heart

Leave a Reply

