As an American… As a Woman

My friend texted me in the morning about the results.

I immediately grew so terrified in a mere second.

I thought that it was a joke. It had to be a joke.

Who would vote for this man?

It has been 14 hours since I’ve known Donald Trump is going to be America’s 45th president and I’m still scared.

I’m scared for my friends of color.

I’m scared for my Muslim friends.

I’m scared to be a woman.

I personally do not want to live in this country if this man is going to be the president of it.

Why would I want to support a man who defiles women, justifies racism, and supports hate?

I cannot.

I’m disappointed.

People really did not want a female to become president so they voted for this man.

I don’t even have words to describe that action.

What if she was a man? Then would she win? Then would the ones who support him see him for who he is?

I try so hard not to hate and not to settle on the negative, but I just  can’t.

I can’t be content or unfazed by this decision.

Someone in one of my classes actually stated, “I don’t care either way.”

And that makes me mad. How could you not care about your future?

How could you not care that this man is going to have a pulpit where he gets to say whatever the hell he wants, and nobody can stop him now because he is the president?

This man has insulted anyone he puts his eyes on, and that disturbs me.

At one of his rallies, he imitated a man with a mental disability. What does he think about mental illnesses? What about my mom with schizophrenia? Am I just supposed to sit back watching her be even more afraid because of this man who seems to not even care about those with special needs.

I’m sorry if I can’t be understanding. I’m sorry I’m not saying everything’s going to be ok. Because I’m not sure it will be. I’m sorry that I can’t understand this decision. I’m sorry I can’t be like everyone else and be unfazed.

I’m sorry.

But I can’t accept this man as my president. I cannot.

Did you hear what he said about women? Do you know how many little girls are out there right now probably learning to walk for the first time, or becoming a teenager, or having insecurities, or just being a girl, they’re going to have this man as president. I don’t want him to be what people look up to, or feel forced to look up to because he’s the president. I don’t want these girls growing up to this man’s ideals and views of the world.

As an American, I’m scared, but as a Woman, I’m terrified.

I don’t want this man to be president.

So I’m going to do everything in my power to be educated. To be everything this man is not. I’m not going to let his views determine my value and worth. I’m a woman, I’m still scared, but I believe that no matter the setback there can be light.

I’m not going to start believing that I can’t make a difference.

I’m lucky that I grew up with a president who gave so much love to everyone; no matter their gender, race, or sexuality. So, I’m going to use that love and share it with everyone and show them and remind them that this love is all we need to bring us through this terrifying moment.

I know that most of you are not Americans, but thank you for reading this. Thank you for caring.

banner-1176676_960_720

11 thoughts on “As an American… As a Woman

  1. I don’t support Trump in any way. And I don’t support Hillary in anyway. It was honestly such a mistake of America for letting both run as candidates and I’d honestly be scared even if Hillary won. I guess the only thing we can do now is come together in kindness and positivty and try and help those who are suffering.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish we had better candidates as well, but your support and worry means a lot. It’s just really hard accepting the fact that the last person you would ever want to be president is actually president.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

