My Little Thankful Note

I might not be happy all the time

I might not see a reason to be cheerful every day

It’s hard for me to see the good in life without the bad

But today on this commemorating holiday I want to give thanks to the extended family that God gave me

Things might not always be perfect whenever I’m around them, it might not even be all that happy either

But whenever I’m in a room celebrating with my extended family I know that I’m loved

I know that we’re together, we’re celebrating and that’s all that matters

Today my older cousins were talking about how fast time passes by on the topic of me being in 11th grade and all of them couldn’t believe it

Then they recalled visiting me in the hospital the day I was born and I didn’t even realize they thought of stuff like that

So I’m just thankful that even though the crappy moments I know that every holiday season I’ll have this extended family that’ll never believe how old I get

That’s all that matters today

Life might not be perfect with them, but being with them reminds me of the love that surrounds me

The love my anxiety tends to forget

banner-1176676_960_720

2 thoughts on “My Little Thankful Note

  1. This was so beautiful to read 🙂 I’m glad you’re thankful for all these things! It made me happy to read this, because I can feel your emotions through your words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Elm, that was just unbelievably kind because I didn’t even know that I could give off emotions in my writing so it’s just beyond amazing that it made you feel happy and you could feel my emotions 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

