What If? …then Would?

Have you ever wondered the question “What if?”

What if I did this instead of that?

What if I said yes instead of no?

What if I approached things differently?

What if…

Then did you follow up the what if question with a “…then would?”

…then would this happen instead?

…then would we still be talking?

…then would I be happy?

…then would?

It’s hard not seeing things in an alternate light.

Maybe things would actually be different if we followed our what if’s then maybe the then would’s could have possibly happened.

But, I mean who even knows for sure that those things would happen? No one on this earth knows that for sure.

We have to stop shredding and ruining ourselves over the what if’s.

Things happen the way they do for a reason. There’s a reason that we did whatever we did in that moment.

Wondering what if is just our way of blaming ourselves for our own actions. Our actions are always justified in the moment. Our brains might not always be at our full capacity in certain situations but our actions should always be justified. You should always believe you’re doing the best for yourself.

Asking what if is like those times when 10 minutes after someone was being sassy or smart with you and you’re like “Man I should’ve said this come back.” What if is us overthinking past situations.

Well, there’s a reason they’re in the past.

They’re over. They’re done with.

There’s no possible way to think about the then would because it’s impossible to change the situation.

Sadly, we can’t.

No time machines.

But think about this:

What if I learned to forgive myself… then would I be able to move on?

Now, there’s a question that we can act on.

banner-1176676_960_720

3 thoughts on “What If? …then Would?

  1. Teenella says:

    This was a truly wonderful post and I completely agree with you. We can’t waste our lives dwelling on all the ‘what ifs’ when instead, we could be doing far more productive things. I like to believe that everything happens for a reason so whenever I’m having a ‘what if’ moment, I tell myself that it was meant to happen and that there’s no point in dwelling on the past when I could be focusing on the future. And that last question was great 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so so much! I believe that everything happens for a reason as well, I don’t really think that coincidences and stuff really exist. Everything is just too connected to not have a reason to happen. I’m really happy that you liked my post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

