My Goodbye to President Obama & The First Lady

I remember watching your inauguration. I was just 9 years old sitting in my parents’ room watching on the tiny screen. I thought this is so big, our first African American president. I was only 9 but I knew that times were gonna change.

Over the past 8 years, you have been one of my biggest role models. Through all the stress of being a president, you never ceased to put a smile on your face.

To be honest, you’re the only president I remember. I didn’t really understand what a president meant until I was 9 years old.

One thing I will always admire about you is that you never forgot about us. Us being kids, teenagers, adolescents. You never forgot we existed, in fact, you made sure we felt memorable. You always spent your time building our future and making sure we felt important.

You made sure that we knew we were important. That we’re capable of having a voice and that our opinions are valid. 

Even with the election results calculated you stood above it all making sure we knew we weren’t completely hopeless. You put your faith in us, everybody, that we have the power to educate and voice our opinions. We have the power to make change happen.

I’ll also miss you, Michelle Obama. The way you stood by important issues of need and advocated important organizations makes me happy to call you my role model as well. When I grow up I want to spread as much sunshine as you did.

I hope that I can grow up to be at least half the woman that you are.

Thank you for encouraging people. For giving us hope. For giving us happiness. You weren’t just the President’s wife or the First Lady… You were Michelle Obama.

I’m so grateful to the both of you that you got to be my role models as I grew up. I learned so much on how to keep your head up even in times of trouble. How it’s great to selflessly help people without the need of retribution. How important education is. How it’s important to care about people.

Thank you, that’s not even enough gratitude for how much you’ve done for me. I’ll miss you a lot. Your impact on this world will never leave my memory.

«Music Friday»

How Far I’ll Go by Alessia Cara (From “Moana”)

Should’ve Been Us by Tori Kelly

banner-1176676_960_720

3 thoughts on “My Goodbye to President Obama & The First Lady

Leave a Reply

